MEET AUTHOR RACHAEL TAMAYO

 

This week I have the American author Rachael Tamayo  as my guest. As well as the first novel in her Friend-Zone series that she talks about below, both Rachael and I have short stories due to appear later this month in the Summer Solstice anthology.

What is the title of your latest book?

Chase Me. It’s book one in my series called Friend-Zone.   Adrienne and Clint are close friends. In fact, Adrienne has been best friends with Clint’s little sister all her life.  They are like family to her. Unfortunately, her own family isn’t so close. One day she opens her mouth and gets herself into trouble by lying to her mom about a long term boyfriend because her mom is hassling her about a date for a family wedding. Clint steps up to help her out, agreeing to play the part of the devoted boyfriend. Turns out, pretending comes a little easier to them both than either of them expected.  It’s easy to pretend when it feels so real.

The release date on Chase Me is pending, stay tuned to  my website for updates!

On 21st June I have a short story, The Stones, coming out in the Summer Solstice anthology.

 What are thRachaele most challenging aspects of being a writer? And the most rewarding?

I find getting the plot right is hard sometimes. I write good scenes that end up being deleted because they don’t work in the story line when I finally get a plot point resolved.  I also have a hard time coming up with titles.

The most rewarding is when someone reads it and tells me how much they loved it, and how they were sad that the book ended because they loved the characters.

What is your top tip for an aspiring writer?

Don’t give up.  Find a critique group that will be honest with you. Find beta readers that will give you a good final opinion. Don’t be afraid to make changes. And keep writing. The more you write, the better you get. With every manuscript you write you will improve.

What are you working on at the moment?

I’m editing books 2 and 3 in the Friend-Zone series. (Reach for me and Claim Me)

I’m also drafting a new romantic suspense book. I haven’t settled on a title yet. It’s about Emily Bronte.  She’s a pharmacist with an over enthusiastic customer, Noah Burrell.  He comes in every day and sees her. The only problem is, she doesn’t realise just how dangerous Noah is. Then she runs into Isaiah Penrose, super cute detective that she had a one night stand with. Turns out, the sparks they generated weren’t just a one-nighter.

 What do you like to read?

I read all kinds of things. Ted Dekker – The Circle series are the most brilliant books I’ve ever read.  When you get to the last book it takes you back around to the first one again. They are written in a circle. Amazing! My recent favorites are Gone Girl and the Hunger Games series. And I like a good romance.

Where can readers find you?

Website: www.RachaelTamayowrites.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Rachael-Tamayo-1600504033593522/?ref=aymt_homepage_panel

twitter: https://twitter.com/rtamayo2004

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

