Meet Poet Emilie Lauren Jones

 

emilie-1

 

Today the young poet Emilie Lauren Jones features on my blog. If you live in or near Coventry UK, you can catch Emilie reading her poems and signing copies of her latest collection at the Big Comfy Bookshop on Saturday 15th October, 1-3pm.

 

 

 

What is the title of your latest poetry collection? Can you tell us a bit about it?emilie-4

It’s called ‘Sitting on the Pier’ and is a collection of poems which I wrote during and just after my time at Coventry University. Some of the poems have been published in other places or won competitions. Generally, I like to write poetry that people can relate to and firmly believe that poetry should be accessible for everyone to enjoy. This idea is at the core of the collection and is confirmed in the title poem with the repetition of the line ‘all are welcome here.’ There are also regular references to nature throughout the book due to my belief that, as humans, we have a deep connection with nature.

 

What are the most challenging aspects of being a poet? And the most rewarding?

The most challenging thing is that, sadly, not everyone likes poetry! It is not as ‘mainstream’ as other forms of writing so it can be quite a hard sell. As for the rewarding side of poetry, I love it when people come and talk to me at events and share their own passion for poetry or tell me that they have been touched by something I have written or performed. I have met many interesting people at events and workshops. I especially enjoy doing performances, although I do get pretty nervous beforehand, I like seeing people’s immediate reactions and I’ve always had very positive feedback, which I hope continues!

Do  you work in other literary genres?emilie-2

Yes, my first ever competition win was The Guardian’s Short Story competition and my story appeared in an anthology called ‘The Perfect Lie.’ I have had a number of non-fiction articles published as well as flash fiction and micro-fiction. I enjoy the challenge and variety that writing in different literary genres brings but poetry will always remain as one of my great passions.

 What is your top tip for an aspiring writer?

From my own experience it is absolutely crucial to read as much as you can and see what others are doing right. Next, I would highly recommend joining a writing group (I am a member of the Coventry Writers’ Group). There are many advantages to this; firstly, other people with experience give you quality feedback on your own writing, secondly, you will get to find out about and become involved in events and finally, I find it inspires me to write more so that I have something to bring to the meetings.

 What are you working on at the moment?

I have emilie-3quite a few events coming up in the next few weeks which I will be performing at; I am very excited to be doing an ‘author meet and greet’ as well as performing poems from ‘Sitting on the Pier’ in Coventry at Fargo Village’s ‘Big Comfy Book Shop’ on October 15th. I’m also booked in to do a couple of Christmas Fayres around The Midlands and some poetry workshops for some local groups. I also have a few non-fiction articles that need finishing, which have been accepted for magazines and ideas for a couple of short stories that I am hoping to get written down soon!

 

 

What do you like to read? I always have a poetry collection on the go whether it’s by a particular poet or anthology featuring various poets and I enjoy reading a mixture of classic and modern poetry.  Aside from this, I love novels with interesting characters and a strong plot. I like anything that’s unique and leaves you thinking about it long after you’ve finished reading it.

 Where can readers find you?

 

 

Leave a Reply

