Happy Everybody Reads YA.

Welcome to this week’s ‘happy everybody reads YA’ #SundayBlogShare. Today I’m sharing an excerpt from my short story – Sleeping Beauty.

Excerpt:sleeping beauty

I thought she was going to kill me there and then, so I ran straight down the stairs and out through the front door. I didn’t want to worry Dad, and I didn’t know if staying or going would upset him the most. Whatever time he came home, he liked to see me and give me a goodnight hug; and he hated to come home to an atmosphere between Sukie and me. But I didn’t want to die and I certainly didn’t want to be scarred. I ran to save my skin, but as I ran I worried about how I would explain in school tomorrow why I hadn’t finished my homework. Or, for that matter, if I did actually go to school, why I was still in my pajamas.

Blurb: 

Dawn has been in a coma for a year and is visited in hospital every day by her devoted father, occasionally by the ghost of her dead mother, and once by her vicious stepmother. Unable to move a muscle she monitors their coming and going and relives the events that lead to her accident. She yearns to wake up and live like a teenager again, but nothing so far has been able to rouse her from her deep, deep sleep. Then, on her fourteenth birthday she is visited by a mysterious delivery boy with a strange package.

Links:

MyBook.to/TheSleepingBeauty

First LoveSleeping Beauty was first published as part of the Solstice Anthology First Love:

http://bookgoodies.com/a/B01BH43NXS

For more stories, including my two YA novels And Alex Still Has Acne, and my latest one, Girl Friends, you can go to one of my Amazon author pages.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/-/e/B00RVO1BHO

http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B00RVO1BHO

Leave a Reply

