Meet author, David Court

 

david-courtDavid Court is a well known writer in Coventry UK. I met him first through the Coventry Writers’ Group, which meets monthly in the lovely Big Comfy Bookshop. We write in different genres, so the friendship is cheerfully supportive rather than competitive!

What is the title of your latest book?

 Scenes of Mild Peril – It’s a collection of around two-and-a-half years’ worth of short stories, some of which have appeared in anthologies for other publishers, some of which are brand new to this collection.  It’s a collection of short tales and poems – some sci-fi, some horror, some satire. It’s with my publisher and a trusty editor now, so should see release later this year.

What are the most challenging aspects of being a writer? And the most rewarding?

 For me, the most challenging aspect is finding the time.  I have to fit writing around my full-time job which can be a struggle at times, because I’ve set myself the challenge of writing at least a thousand words per day – and that challenge seems impossible on certain days!

The most rewarding aspect has to be when complete strangers get in touch to say they’ve enjoyed your stuff – lots of people don’t realise how critical reviews are to the writer. It’s the reader feedback that keeps me going, and it’s that that makes it all worthwhile.

 What is your top tip for an aspiring writer?

Write, write, write and read, read, read!  It may seem obvious, but – as with anything – the more you write, the better you’ll get. Even over the space of a few years, I can see how my writing has improved when I look back at some of my earlier attempts.   Reading stuff by other people is critical too – mainly so you don’t stagnate, but also because you’ll learn to recognise various techniques and can adapt them into your own writing.

 What are you working on at the moment?

I’ve had an idea for a science-fiction series bouncing around in my head for the last decade, so finally took the plunge and put it to paper.  I finished the first draft of Recreant at the start of the year, and am currently going through the painful editing process. It’s a space opera – a mix of political intrigue and loads of old fashioned space battles. My elevator pitch for it is “Star Wars meets the Fourth Protocol”. I’m really pleased with it.

 What do you like to read?

My reading habits match my writing ones – I’m a sucker for a good short story (Ray Bradbury is the absolute master of them) and horror (in which the Borderlands series are top-notch).  I’m also a huge fan of comics – I grew up reading 2000ad whilst all my friends were into the Beano and Dandy – and am thoroughly enjoying Saga (Vaughan and Staples) and Michael Carroll’s run on Judge Dredd.

 Where can readers find you?david-2

 I’ve got a blog which you can find at www.davidjcourt.co.uk.  My Amazon author page is https://www.amazon.co.uk/David-Court/e/B00GMCNVRE which has a link to all the stuff I’ve released so far. If you’re tempted by my work, the best place to start is Forever and Ever, Armageddon – Super Alpha Turbo Extreme which is a collection of all my released short stories to date.  I hope you enjoy them!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

