The Dog Days of Summer

I’m writing this on a particularly damp and chilly Saturday in early July. I do believe in climate change and global warming, and the need for us all to do our bit – but come on! Despite putting on an extra  jumper, I’m seriously tempted to put on the central heating!

So, it is somewhat irksome to be reminded that early July is generally noted for its hot, sultry weather. Or, as the erudite might say, it tends to be canicular at this time of year; canicular being a fancy way of saying sultry.

Canicular comes from canicula, the Roman name for the dog star Sirius. The dog star rises in the sky in early July (when normally the weather is particularly warm in these parts). Hence why the term, the dog days of summer, is associated with this time of year.

If only!

(Now where did I put my hot water bottle?)

Links to my books and social media

You can find all my books and short stories on Amazon books, At least one story always free. ALL BOOKS FREE ON KINDLE UNLIMITED

www.amazon.co.uk/-/e/B00RVO1BHO

fb.me/margaretegrot.writer

Twitter: @meegrot

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.